Securely overwriting free space in Windows
Whenever you delete a file, and even if you empty the recycle bin afterwards, Windows will just mark that file as free space. As long as this free space has not been overwritten with another file, the file you deleted can easily be recovered.
So, if you want to make sure no one can access your deleted files, you should use a build-in Windows tool to overwrite that free space.
and hit enter. Replace <drive> with the letter of the drive you want to securely overwrite the free space on.
That´s it. It will take some time to securely overwrite the free space, but after that, your deleted files are really gone.
Was this article helpful? Then please donate to keep The IT Community alive...
If you found this article helpful please share it, comment and help others by writing your own article.
Translate this page:
Articles found in the same category: